Motor Vehicle Homicide
In Massachusetts, the crime of Vehicular Homicide is punishable by imprisonment to state prison for 2.5 to 15 years, or to the House of Corrections for 1 to 2.5 years; and a fine of up to $5,000. If there is no evidence of reckless or negligent driving, and only a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08% or greater, the criminal penalty in Massachusetts is 30 days up to 2.5 years in the House of Corrections.
In addition, a conviction for Vehicular Homicide in Massachusetts will obviously have severe implications in your right to drive a vehicle. For first-time offenders, the Registrar of Motor Vehicles may revoke your Driver's License for 15 years; and for a subsequent-offender, your license may be revoked for life.
For the criminal offense of Vehicular Homicide, the prosecutor has the burden of proving, beyond a reasonable doubt:
- That the defendant operated a motor vehicle;
- That such operation occurred on a way or in a place to which the public has a right of access;
- That while the defendant was operating the motor vehicle he was under the influence of an intoxicating substance;
- That the motor vehicle was operated in a reckless or negligent manner so that the lives or safety of the public might have been endangered; and
- That such operation caused the death of another person.
If you have been charged with the crime of Vehicular Homicide, it is critical that you immediately consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can explain your legal rights and best defense your criminal charges.
Boston Criminal Defense Attorney Lefteris K. Travayiakis is available 24/7. To schedule a Free Consultation, Click Here to Contact a Boston Murder Lawyer or call him directly at 617-325-9500.