Massachusetts Ignition Interlock Device Requirements

Upon a second or subsequent conviction for a Massachusetts DUI / OUI Crime, the Registry of Motor Vehicles requires as a condition for reinstatement of the person's driver's license and/or hardship license that an Ignition Interlock Device be installed for at least 2 years.

An Ignition Interlock Device ("IID") is a handheld breath-alcohol monitoring system that is electronically connected to a vehicle's ignition.  Before the vehicle can be started and operated, the IID requires the driver to take and pass a breath test, and will prevent the car from starting for any blood-alcohol readings of 0.02% or greater.

The requirement of an Ignition Interlock Device applies to any vehicle the person owns or even operates, even an employer's vehicle, and is installed at the person's own expense.  Mandatory Ignition Interlock Fees range from $100 to $500 for installation, and then $85 or more monthly.  Additionally, the operator must allow the vendor of the IID to upload and transfer the data to the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

Massachusetts law also provides for a further driver's license suspension of 10 years to life for failure to comply with the requirements of the Ignition Interlock Device Law.

Boston Criminal Defense Attorney Lefteris K. Travayiakis is available 24/7 for consultation on all Massachusetts Drunk Driving Crimes.

To schedule a Free Consultation, Click Here to Contact a Boston DUI / OUI Lawyer or call 617-325-9500.