Leaving the Scene of an Accident After Causing Death
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 24(2)(a1/2)(2) makes it a crime to leave the scene of an accident where death resulted and without leaving your identity, address and registration information of your vehicle.
The punishment upon conviction for the Massachusetts Crime of Leaving the Scene of an Accident After Causing Death is imprisonment in the House of Corrections for not less than 1 year and up to 2.5 years; or commitment to State Prison for not less than 2.5 years and up to 10 years.
In order to be convicted of the crime of Leaving the Scene of an Accident After Causing Death, the prosecutor must prove, beyond a reasonable doubt:
- That the defendant operated a motor vehicle;
- That he operated it on a public way or in a place where the public has a right of access;
- That while the defendant operated the vehicle, he collided with or caused injuries to another that resulted in death;
- That the defendant knew that he collided with or caused the death of another; and
- That after such collision or injury, the defendant did not stop and make known his name, home address, and the registration number of his vehicle.
The purpose of this statute outlining the crime of Leaving the Scene of an Accident After Causing Death is to identify persons responsible for such accident causing death. Massachusetts law therefore imposes an active and positive duty on the driver to immediately stop at the scene and offer the specific information required by law, in order to identify him and to make it simple to find him later.
Boston Criminal Lawyer Lefteris K. Travayiakis recognizes the severe and extreme consequences of being charged with the crime of Leaving the Scene of an Accident After Causing Death, as well as other Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crimes, and for that reason, makes himself available 24/7 for consultation.
To schedule a Free Consultation, Click Here to Contact a Boston Motor Vehicle Crime Lawyer Online, or call 617-325-9500.